What's the next step?

Looking for work? Post your resume here.
ThePetroLife

What's the next step?

Post by ThePetroLife » Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:15 pm

Curious what folks have to say:

I worked many years as a field based technician. Startups, maintenance, troubleshooting, being on call for 15+ years. I also worked as a Service Manager overseeing multiple technicians, managing accounts and relations, parts, etc. The normal daily in's and out's of being in this business. I grew discontent with driving 50,000 - 75,000 miles a year and being gone from home, all while being on-call. I stepped away from the industry about a year ago and have not figured out what the "right direction" is to be heading. I have been offered a couple of sales positions, but don't particularly see myself as a salesman. I know that I have a lot to offer this industry, but I don't have any desire to be back out in the field. Do I just leave behind 17 years of experience and go to a totally new industry? What else exists within the industry that doesn't require being on call ALL THE TIME and in the field daily?

Feel free to chime in folks. Maybe with the help of some dedicated forum readers, we can find me a new home.

jbmccoll
Pump Jockey

Re: What's the next step?

Post by jbmccoll » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:40 pm

Perhaps a role as a "sales engineer"? Providing the technical expertise to the sales team and clients, developing solutions for the client, guiding integration and providing an escalation point for the client.

ZMiller
Head Tech

Post by ZMiller » Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:59 pm

Time you went into business for yourself maybe?
When you are dead it's likely you won't know it. It could be difficult for others. It's the same if you are stupid.
"Tact is the ability to tell someone to go to Hell in a way that they will begin looking forward to the trip"

ThePetroLife

Post by ThePetroLife » Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:39 pm